Gort GAA Club run a tournament each year in memory of Brendan Linnane, a native of Gort, who died in London on 27 January 1980. A cup in his memory was presented to the Club by the Gort & District Association, London. Since 1980 the cup has been played for at Under 14 level between the clubs of South Galway. Craughwell were the first winners of the competition in 1980 and each year since the competition has been keenly contested with a Brendan Linnane Tournament winners medal a highly valued possession by all who have been lucky enough to win one.

Current Galway senior hurling captain David Burke led a strong St. Thomas’s team to victory in 2004 while other notable hurlers who have participated in the competition since its inception include Ollie Fahy (Gort), Aidan Harte (Gort), Conor Cooney (St. Thomas’s), Iarlaith Tannian (Ardrahan), Niall Donoghue (Kilbeacanty), Rory Gantley (Beagh), Alan Kerins (Clarinbridge), Fergal & Niall Healy (Craughwell) & Colm Callinan (Kinvara).

Brendan Linnane Tournament 2018

For 2018, it was decided to make the competition an Under 15 tournament and to expand the tournament to include clubs from outside South Galway. The competition will be ran off throughout the month of August ahead of the County U-15 Hurling Championships which commences on 30th August.